12/365 – Change the calendar

The changing of the guard as 2009 replaces 2008.

The changing of the guard as 2009 replaces 2008.

Finally time to get rid of last year’s desk calendar. I had been referring to the December pages of 2008, leaving that book open under the January pages of 2009, but no need for that any longer; we’re far enough into January that Decem-ber doesn’t much matter. It was a great month, don’t get me wrong, and was packed with things to do and get done. But it can be put into the library now.

I filled in all the company holidays in the calendar, and was surprised to find we get MLK Day off – I wasn’t on board until January 28th last year, so I missed it. Then there’s that great desert of no holidays until what, Memorial Day in May?

Literary historians will probably enjoy the bowl of grapes on my desk. That’s my favorite morning grazing choice. All the tools and toys arcoss the top are kind of cute, too. I never really notice them, except for them now being in a photograph.

By the way, they call a desk calendar book an “agenda” in Canada, according to my closest source.

 

Leave a Reply

