241/365 – Mad beauty

DSCN2870

Stuck in traffic (due to some bicycle event that took up half the downtown in Madison), I veered down a random side street, and as I waitied for the light, a flock of gulls caught my eye.  Then I saw the lake, and then the sky, the green of the grass and trees.  “This place is beautiful!” I thought.

These sorts of views are in abundance in downtown Madison, because the city sits on an isthmus between two fairly large lakes, Mendota and Monona.  But we get used to what is in front of us every day, which is a shame.

Leave a Reply

